Your shopping cart is empty.
(Item no.: 589)
Label: Trakwerx
Released: 2005

A multi-cultural exploration of indigeneous (including contemporary western and middle eastern) sounds and motifs in a quest for spiritual ecstacy through music.

Philip Drucker, alias Jackson Del Rey, is a curious and somewhat mysterious figure whose music is undeservedly little known. Drucker was an art student who first came to most people's notice as a founding member of Savage Republic. Savage Republic was on their way to, if not stardom, a respected place in the indie underground scene. The band was initially musically primitive, with frequently out-of-tune instruments backed by percussion as simple as Drucker pounding on a 50-gallon oil drum, but there were hints of Greek and Middle Eastern music in their sound.

In 1982 he started a side project called Seventeen Pygmies with fellow Savage Republic alumnus Robert Loveless and drummer/vocalist Debbie Spinelli. The release of the Hatikva EP in 1983 showed that the new band was vastly more sophisticated than the old and gave a strong clue regarding the source of the more interesting elements in Savage Republic's sound. The Middle Eastern stylings on Hatikva are much more pronounced, and both the songs and arrangements are much more sophisticated. Seventeen Pygmies released two more full-length records, Captured in Ice and Jedda by the Sea, which gradually moved away from the folk influences and toward a soft, distanced, and melancholy sound. Somewhere in between his participation in both bands, Drucker found time to start a record label, Nate Starkman and Son, which released recordings from several important local bands including the Red Temple Spirits and Drowning Pool. Meanwhile, his own career was heating up. Savage Republic was still releasing records but Seventeen Pygmies was making much more interesting music, and in 1988, they released their masterpiece, entitled Welcome. This exotic piece of cabaret rock received rave reviews and major-label interest, with Island Records offering a contract to the band. Savage Republic had been dormant for some time and it looked like Seventeen Pygmies was going to attain a level of success that the struggling indie band could only dream of. So it came as a shock to the rest of the bandmembers, who had already booked studio time for the new album, when Drucker announced that he was going on an extended European tour with a re-formed Savage Republic. The tour broke up both bands; Savage Republic had their most bitter arguments in a career with plenty to choose from, and the other members of Seventeen Pygmies felt betrayed by Drucker's inexplicable decision and declared the band dead.

Drucker was left on his own, and given the situation, it is somewhat surprising that he was able to quickly form his next project, the Jackson Del Rey Band. Wickerman, an album of mysterious, atmospheric folk-rock with Celtic overtones, appeared in 1990. The sound here was more complex than anything Drucker had attempted before, with exotic instruments like bagpipes and Ethan James' hurdy-gurdy mixed in with arty rock and dance tracks. He did do some production work and tour bookings for bands on the Fundamental and Southern Sound labels while working on the next Jackson Del Rey album. Kyrie, an album steeped in mystical religious themes, appeared in 1992. Immediately after its release Drucker disappeared, telling some acquaintances he was moving to Chicago to produce records, others that he was moving to Hawaii to work for an oil company. There have been no further releases under his own name or as the Jackson Del Rey Band, though given Drucker's fondness for pseudonyms it is possible that he remained active in the music industry under another name. 

Click on the Product Specification link to listen the full album on Last.FM

| More

electronic / avant garde / industrial / misc
1 Jaxbac (Intro)
2 Blood Doesn't Lie
3 Nowhere To Land
4 I Am The Light
5 Muadhdhin6 Ecstacy
7 One Small Step (Neil Armstrong Version)
8 Chain Reaction
9 Re-Animator
10 Go!
11 Can You Hear Me?
12 Rose Garden (For Saadi)
13 Bonus Track: One Small Step (Instrumental)
14 Hidden Track: De Occulta Philosophica
Price details:
Price per piece:
€ 13,95 € 11,95
The number of Sounds for Sure Spaarpunten granted for this product is 2
Quantity: Order

Default delivery time

1 - 3 working days



Relevant products
Products viewed by others

Sounds for Sure • Wilgenhof 12 • 3355PA Papendrecht • The Netherlands